The Regulatory Organizations of Architecture in Canada (ROAC) is an informal federation of all Canadian territorial and provincial regulators. Having no formal governance authority, ROAC takes direction from each provincial and territorial regulator, with each jurisdiction ratifying orders at the local level.

ROAC meets throughout the year to discuss issues relevant to the conduct of architecture in Canada. Current national programming includes:

  • Broadly Experienced Foreign Architect (BEFA) certification program,
  • Internship in Architecture Program (IAP),
  • Examination for Architects in Canada (ExAC),
  • International Mobility Committee (IMC) initiatives, including
    • Canada/USA (NCARB) Inter-Agreement,
    • Canada/USA/Mexico Tri-National Agreement,
    • Canada/Australia/New Zealand Agreement,
    • Negotiations with the Architects Council of Europe (ACE), and
    • other international recognition agreements and negotiations, and
  • Canadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB).

For more information, visit

Canadian Regulators

NOTE: ROAC replaced CALA in February 2022. CALA replaced the Committee of Canadian Architectural Councils (CCAC), which was officially dissolved in March 2008.