To recognize and celebrate the outstanding work of current and former NWTAA Architects in Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut and raise the level of critical dialogue regarding architecture in Canada’s North.

Categories & Eligiblity

There are three (3) separate categories:

  1. New Construction: projects displaying Design Excellence in the creation of form and spaces that enrich the communities they serve.
  2. Addition/Renovations/Adaptive Reuse: projects displaying Design Excellence in the reuse and/or renovation of a significant portion of existing buildings or interior spaces.
  3. Landscape Design: exterior projects displaying Design Excellence in the creation of spaces that enrich the communities they serve.

Eligible projects must:

  • be completed in one of Canada’s three territories;
  • have been substantially completed within the past 5 years (October 1, 2015 – September 30th, 2020);
  • be undertaken by current or former members of NWTAA; and
  • [for Addition/Renovations/Adaptive Reuse projects] identify the original architect.

For projects in which the NWTAA member has joint-ventured or associated with a design consultant, the NWTAA member must be the Architect-of-Record. All participants who substantially contributed to the project must be appropriately credited.

Entry Requirements & Fees

Each entrant may submit up to a total of five (5) projects. Entrance fees are as follows:

  • For the first entry: $200.00
  • For the second entry: $150.00
  • For each entry thereafter: $100.00

Entries must include the following:

  1. A completed Entry Form listing all projects being submitted,
  2. Full payment for the total number of submitted projects, and
  3. All completed submissions [see Submission Requirements].

Entries may be sent by:

  • Email: [email protected]
  • Mail: PO Box 1394   Yellowknife, NT  X1A 2P1
  • Courier: 202 -5204 50th Avenue   Yellowknife, NT  X1A 1E2

Only ZIP package files with completed submissions will be accepted by email, cloud file sharing (Dropbox, Google, etc) and file transfer services (WeTransfer, Send Anywhere, etc).  USB drives and SDCards are accepted; any hard-media received will not be returned. Paper copies are not accepted.

NWTAA accepts cash, cheques, Interac eTransfers (sent to [email protected]) and credit cards (by phone - 867-766-4216).

Completed entries must be received by 5:00pm MST on Friday, October 30th.

Projects that do not meet the submission requirements may be disqualified.  Submissions cannot be modified or re-submitted once received by NWTAA.

Submission Requirements

Each submission must be presented in a single, multi-page, tabloid-size (11” x 17”) PDF in portrait or landscape orientation, and must include the following:

  1. Project Description explaining the project in terms of design excellence that may not be communicated through drawings or images. This may include insight into design elements, response to the Northern context, considerations and challenges that contributed to the overall success of the project, and more. [maximum 300 words]
  2. Project Drawings, including:
    1. Site Plan(s) showing the project and its surrounding context and adjacencies,
    2. Floor Plan(s), and
    3. other drawings that convey the design intent of the project.
    Floor plans and Sections are not required for Landscape Design submissions.
  3. Photographs conveying the key design elements for the project.  For Renovation/Addition Adaptive Reuse submissions, at least one (1) image showing the original condition of the site/building is required.

Page order, text and graphic assembly are at the discretion of the entrant. Please consider the printing and digital qualities of graphics and drawings and legibility of all text.

Each submission must also include a separate “packaged” folder containing the individual photographs and drawings included in the submission [minimum 300 dpi in JPEG, TIFF, or PDF format].

IMPORTANT: Submissions that include text or graphics which may identify the entrant, including named architects, firm logos, firm-specific themes or other marks, may be disqualified.

Adjudication & Selection

There are three (3) award tiers:

  1. Honour (1st tier),
  2. Merit (2nd tier), and
  3. Citation (3rd tier), for projects demonstrating unique or unusual design solutions.

All project submissions will be reviewed by NWTAA-appointed jurors who are established professionals familiar with principles of design in northern climates.  Projects are considered on individual merit, and jurors have full discretion to award as many or as few projects in each category as they deem appropriate.

Notification of Award

Official notice of award recipients will be made by NWTAA and presentation of the awards will take place in December 2020 at an awards gala, subject to public health restrictions, and/or via web-conference.

All awarded projects will be published by NWTAA and media partners to showcase the best of the built environment within Canada’s three territories.