Reciprocity Within Canada

With the exception of Yukon and Nunavut*, all architects working within any Canadian jurisdiction must be registered with the regulator of that jurisdiction.

The NWTAA is a signatory of the Reciprocity Agreement of the Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities (CALA), which uniformly recognizes credentials for architectural registration across Canada, and allows for licensing between the territorial/provincial regulators with a minimum of barriers.  The agreement is applicable to all architects in good standing in their originating or primary ("home") jurisdiction.

While this agreement facilitates an expedient registration, regulators may still require conditions to be met or reject applications where the public interest is at risk.

The reciprocity agreement aligns with the provisions of the federal/provincial/territorial Agreement on Internal Trade.

[*Yukon & Nunavut are not currently represented by a regulatory body.  However, persons offering or providing architectural services in these territories must be registered and in good standing in any Canadian jurisdiction.]

MRA with United States

As of June 2015, 41 jurisdictions of the United States are signatories to a Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) with Canada, which came into effect on January 1, 2014.  The agreement allows for fast-track cross-border registrations of architects between the two countries:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah*
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Virgin Islands
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
* Please consult with NWTAA before applying from or applying to this state.

MRA with Australia, New Zealand

As of February 2015, Australia and New Zealand are signatories to a Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) with Canada, allowing for fast-track cross-border registrations of senior architects between the three economies.  This MRA has come about as a result of Canada’s, Australia’s and New Zealand’s participation in the APEC Architect Project.

Tri-National Agreement

Negotiations are currently in progress to ratify an inter-recognition agreement between Canada, the United States and Mexico.