Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities


The Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities (CALA) is an informal federation of the Canadian territorial and provincial regulators. Having no formal governance authority, CALA takes direction by consensus, with each jurisdiction ratifying orders at the local level.

CALA meets throughout the year to discuss issues relevant to the conduct of architecture in Canada. Current national programming includes:

  • Broadly Experienced Foreign Architect (BEFA) certification program,
  • Internship in Architecture Program (IAP),
  • Examination for Architects in Canada (ExAC),
  • International Relations Committee (IRC) initiatives, including
    • Canada/USA (NCARB) Inter-Agreement,
    • Canada/USA/Mexico Tri-National Agreement,
    • Canada/Australia/New Zealand Agreement,
    • negotiations with the Architects Council of Europe (ACE), and
    • other international recognition agreements and negotiations, and
  • Canadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB).

CALA meetings typically coincide with Architecture Canada/RAIC meetings, where a roundtable is held to update the two groups on mutual files including BEFA, IRC, and the Syllabus Program.

For more information, visit

NOTE: CALA replaces the Committee of Canadian Architectural Councils (CCAC), which was officially dissolved in March 2008.